Logo alt
Transforming the energy

Kinetic. Braking Energy Recovery

In electromechanical systems (e.g. transport, elevators) huge amount of kinetic energy is wasted every day. High power is consumed every time electric rail car accelerates or industrial crane lifts a cargo, but it is also true that decelerating rail car or crane lowering the load holds kinetic energy that could be saved and converted to electricity. However, kinetic energy is typically lost, converted to heat through braking systems with no attempt to recycle or reuse it.  

Our high-speed energy storage system "Kinetic" is capable of catching and recycling otherwise wasted kinetic energy. In case of rail transport, "Kinetic" instantly absorbs energy generated by braking and automatically releases it into the grid to accelerate the train. According to the experts, regenerative braking coupled with high-speed energy storage could reduce electricity costs by more than 30% . 

Moreover, when "Kinetic" is connected to the grid it provides frequency regulation and grid balancing services, improving quality of electricity and reducing expenditures on power regulating equipment .

Currently, only a small fraction of the consumed energy is captured and recycled. One of the main reasons for that is low economic and technological efficiency of energy storage systems. However, superflywheel energy storage systems are capable of making a radical change. “Kinetic” have number of unique features, distinguishing it form competitors. It  is designed to provide unlimited number of full discharge cycles throughout the operating life; is able to provide almost instant response to any power requests (within milliseconds); have very high specific power; and importantly is explosion- and rupture-proof.

“Kinetic” could be placed directly by an electrical substation or a train station and ensures 25 years of maintenance-free operations (with no deterioration of storage capacity). Moreover, “Kinetic” reduces the amount of CO2 emission by lowering the energy consumption, and could itself be safely recycled at the end of service life.

Energy Recovery Energy Recuperation

Logo alt
Transforming the energy

Kinetic. Braking Energy Recovery

Кинетическая энергия, используемая в электромеханических системах (например, в транспорте), зачастую расходуется нерационально, превращаясь в тепло из-за невозможности повторного использования. Однако, применение высокоскоростных накопителей энергии «Кинетик», позволяет накапливать энергию, высвобождаемую при торможении (на транспорте) или спуске (в подъемниках, грузовых кранах и лифтах).  

В случае применения накопителя на транспорте, «Кинетик» способен улавливать энергию при торможении и, через короткий промежуток времени, автоматически выдавать ее для разгона подвижного состава. По данным исследований, экономия потребляемой электроэнергии в таком случае составляет более 30%.

Параллельно «Кинетик», интегрированный в сеть, способен регулировать частоту и нагрузку в сети, улучшая качество электроэнергии и позволяя экономить на специализированном оборудовании, обеспечивающим стабильность и качество электроэнергии.

В настоящее время лишь малая доля всей энергии используется повторно. Это вызвано, прежде всего, дороговизной и неэффективностью технологий хранения электроэнергии. Однако, использование систем на базе супермаховика, может кардинально изменить ситуацию. «Кинетик» способен обеспечивать неограниченное число полных циклов заряд-разряд; имеет предельно быстрое время отклика в несколько сотых секунды; удельную мощность, недостижимую для других систем хранения энергии; а также является разрыво- и взрывобезопасным, в отличие от кинетических накопителей энергии конкурентов.

Таким образом, «Кинетик» устанавливается непосредственно у электрической подстанции или у места торможения и обеспечивает 25 лет необслуживаемой эксплуатации (без ухудшения параметров хранения в течение всего срока службы). Более того, использование накопителя «Кинетик» значительно снижает объемы выброса СО2 в атмосферу (путем сокращения потребления энергии), а по окончании срока службы сам накопитель может быть переработан без вреда для экологии.   

Рекуперация Энергии